Site Loader

Philippines’ President Rodrigo Roa Duterte has now approved a recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force to extend travel restrictions. The ongoing travel restrictions will continue until August 15, in view of COVID 19 delta variant that is causing a surge in coronavirus cases in the country. The travel restriction is extended to ten countries, including india.

The countries on which the travel restrictions have been extended are India, Sri Lanka, Oman, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Indonesia, United Arab Emirates, Malaysia, and Thailand. The ban on India was first imposed this year on April 29 as the number of coronavirus infections were rising at an alarming rate.

That travel restriction was then on July 14, covering India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, UAE, Oman, and Sri Lanka. It was extended until July 31.

President Duterte spoke to the nation, and advised people to remain at home. He said, am telling you, don’t leave your homes. If you go out, I will tell the police to escort you back to your house because you are a walking spreader.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *